Percy Mayfield – My Jug and I (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 646315180510 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2011

Label:  4 Men With Beards


Track List

Side A

A1. My Jug And I 2:58
A2. River’s Invitation 2:18
A3. Baby Please 2:59
A4. Stranger In My Own Home Town 2:38
A5. Never Say Naw 2:52
A6. The Hunt Is On 1:57

Side B

B1. Memory Pain 2:24
B2. I Reached For A Tear 2:25
B3. Life Is Suicide 2:16
B4. Maybe It’s Because Of Love 3:20
B5. Give Me Time To Explain 1:44
B6. Fading Love 2:17



Mayfield’s gentle vocal delivery and the big, brassy sound of Ray Charles’ orchestra were a match made in heaven. Mayfield brought some first-class material to this party (which begs for CD reissue): “My Jug and I,” “Stranger in My Own Home Town” (later covered by Elvis Presley), the untypically jumping “Give Me Time to Explain,” and a handful of Specialty remakes.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required