Pretenders – Pretenders (40th Anniversary Edition Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 0190295165093 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Rhino


Track List

Side A

  1. Precious
  2. The Phone Call
  3. Up the Neck
  4. Tattooed Love Boys
  5. Space Invader
  6. The Wait
  7. Stop Your Sobbing

Side B

  1. Kid
  2. Private Life
  3. Brass in Pocket
  4. Lovers of Today
  5. Mystery Achievement



Limited edition 2018 remaster!

This pressing of Pretenders features 2018 remastered audio by the album’s original producer, Chris Thomas, and is on vinyl for the first time.

Pretenders is widely regarded as one of the greatest debut albums of all-time. Featuring Chrissie Hynde’s incredible vocals and guitar, James Honeyman-Scott’s glistening guitar, Pete Farndon’s driving bass and Martin Chambers’ drums, the album is quintessential new wave, and a defining album of the ’80s.

It started with the release of their first single, a cover of The Kinks’ “Stop Your Sobbing,” produced by Nick Lowe. It would end up a top 40 hit in the U.K., with their follow up single Kid also reaching the Top 40. They then released one of Pretenders’ most famous tracks, “Brass in Pocket.”

Leading with a glorious guitar rhythm embodied by luscious chorus, “Brass in Pocket” launched Pretenders onto a different level, with the track finishing reaching No. 1 in the U.K., Ireland, Sweden and South Africa, as well as Top 5s in Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, New Zealand and more. It was also a success in the U.S., reaching No. 14 and becoming the seventh music video aired on MTV. The album continues to be highly acclaimed to this day, regularly featuring among best of the 1980s lists.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required