Rickie Lee Jones – Kicks


In stock


Release Date: 2019

Label: Thirty Tigers


Track List

  1. Bad Company
  2. My Fathers Gun
  3. Lonely People
  4. Houston
  5. You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You
  6. Nagasaki
  7. Mack The Knife
  8. Quicksilver Girl
  9. Cry



  • Ricki Lee Jones – vocals, guitars, piano, wurlitzer, percussion, tamborine
  • Aurora Nealand – clarinet, backing vocals
  • Nathan Lambertson – bass
  • Mike Dillon – vibraphone, various percussion
  • Shane Theriot – guitar, slide guitar
  • Doug Belote – drums
  • Tiffany Lamson – backing vocals
  • Ian Bowman – tenor sax
  • Nick Ellman – baritone sax
  • John Culbreth – trumpet
  • Louis Michot – fiddle
  • Andre Michot – accordion
  • Jon Gross – sousaphone
  • David Easley – pedal steele
  • James Singleton – upright bass
  • Cliff Hines – guitar



2019 release. Kicks is an eclectic album of ten cover songs – from “Mack The Knife” written in 1928 for a German musical (known in the U.S. as The Threepenny Opera) that became a jazz standard, to “Bad Company” the eponymous theme song for the British rock band written in 1974. The arrangement and instrumentation, by producer Michael Napolitano (Ani DiFranco), provides a fresh and modern sonic infusion on every song. Rickie Lee Jones skyrocketed to fame in 1979 when as a barely known artist she appeared on Saturday Night Live. Performing her biggest hit ‘Chuck E’s In Love’ in her trademark red beret, Time Magazine instantly dubbed her the Duchess of Coolsville. Since then she has gone on to win two Grammy Awards, appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone twice, and included in VH1’s 100 Greatest Women of Rock & Roll.






You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required