Roky Erickson And The Explosives – Halloween Live 1979-1981 (Vinyl 2-LP Set)


In stock

SKU: 760137665212 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Freddie Steady Sound Recordings

“Evil One” Orange and “Bloody Hammer” Red Colored Vinyl


Track List

Side A

1. Two Headed Dog
2. Don’t Shake Me Lucifer
3. Bermuda
4. The Wind and More
5. Starry Eyes

Side B

1. I Walked With A Zombie
2. Stand For The Fire Demon
3. Bloody Hammer

Side C

1. Wait for You
2. Wake Up To Rock and Roll
3. You’re Gonna Miss Me
4. Creature With The Atom Brain

Side D

1. I Think Up Demons
2. The Beast
3. I’ve Just Seen A Face
4. The Interpreter
5. White Faces
6. KLBJ Radio Ad



Bass, Backing Vocals – Waller Collie
Drums, Backing Vocals – Freddie Steady KRC
Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals – Cam King
Lead Vocals, Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar – Roky Erickson



Upon completion of the Stu Cook produced Roky Erickson & The Aliens LP in summer of 1979, Roky decided to return home to Austin from San Francisco. He needed a band and The Explosives came highly recommended to Roky’s manager, Craig Luckin. Introductions were made and rehearsals began. Roky & The Explosives immediately hit it off, musically and personally. They played together in Texas and California from 1979-1981 logging in around 50 shows. 13th Floor Elevators drummer John Ike Walton remarked to Explosives drummer Freddie Steady Krc “You guys played more shows with Roky than the Elevators did!” The guys got in the van and barnstormed all over the Lone Star State. Bootleg recordings began to emerge that were sub-quality live performance recordings that everyone was making money off except Roky and The Explosives. Craig and Freddie agreed Freddie would review all the recordings they could find from 1979-81. Almost all were in Craig’s possession. Upon final review, Freddie would select the best performance of each song they were playing live from that time period. Some, like “Heroin” and “I’ve Just Seen a Face” were called on the spot by Roky at a show, performed once and never played again. After the music was selected, Craig and Freddie went through their personal collection of photos, poster images and added a complete show itinerary from 1979-81. Halloween is a loving collection of performances documenting a time of Roky’s reemergence into the rock music world. It was something most thought they would never see after his final days with 13th Floor Elevators, following drug busts and his plunge into mental illness eventually ending in his stay at Rusk State Mental Hospital. This record is a testimony of Roky’s personal strength and will to return to performing and songwriting. Long live his music!

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required