Rosie Ledet – Sweet Brown Sugar


In stock

SKU: 046346105221 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date:  1994

Label:  Maison de Soul


Track List

1. Sweet Brown Sugar 4:00
2. Hey Baby, Baby 3:26
3. Should’ve Been Mine 4:10
4. You’re No Good For Me 4:16
5. Ever Love A Woman 5:08
6. Wear It Out 4:15
7. Swing That Thing 4:30
8. When I’m Gone 3:42
9. Easy Come, Easy Go 2:50
10. Shame On You 3:07
11. Don’t Tell Me, You Love Me 3:06
12. I Waited For You 3:21
13. We Call It Zydeco 3:23
14. The Mardi Gras 3:59
15. Mo Beer 3:11



  • Rosie Ledet – accordion, vocals
  • Kent Pierre August – guitar
  • Eddie Bodin – keyboards
  • Pat Breaux – saxophone
  • Corey Ledet – drums
  • Morris Ledet – bass
  • Mark Miller – bass



Since there aren’t many female zydeco singers, the very existence of Rosie Ledet is noteworthy. Fortunately, her debut album, Sweet Brown Sugar, shows that there’s a reason to be interested in her outside of sheer novelty. Ledet proves herself to be a strong songwriter and an energetic accordionist on Sweet Brown Sugar. Her voice may be a little too restrained for some tastes, but she makes up for that with her propulsive, infectious instrumental work. Her songs suggest that she could develop into a distinctive lyrical voice in her own right. All in all, it’s a fine debut.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required