Sister Rosetta Tharpe – The Singles Collection As & Bs 1939-1950 (3 CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2024

Label: Acrobat


Track List

Disc: 1

  • The Lonesome Road
  • Rock Me
  • I Looked Down The Line ( And I Wondered)
  • God Don’t Like It
  • My Man And I
  • That’s All
  • Bring Back Those Happy Days
  • This Train
  • Beams Of Heaven
  • Saviour Don’t Pass Me By
  • Rock, Daniel
  • Trouble In Mind
  • Rock Me
  • Shout, Sister, Shout
  • That’s All
  • End Of My Journey
  • Sit Down
  • There Is Something Within Me
  • Stand By Me
  • I Want A Tall Skinny Papa
  • Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • I’m In His Care
  • Precious Lord, Hold My Hand
  • Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  • I Want Jesus To Walk Around My Bedside
  • Pure Religion

Disc: 2

  • What He Done For Me
  • All Over This World
  • Sleep On Darling Mother
  • I Want To Live So God Can Use Me
  • Two Little Fishes And Five Loaves Of Bread
  • Strange Things Happening Every Day
  • Singing In My Soul
  • I Claim Jesus First
  • Jonah
  • Jesus Is Here Today
  • Jesus Taught Me How To Smile
  • Forgive Me Lord And Try Me One More Time
  • God Don’t Like It
  • What Is The Soul Of Man?
  • Let That Liar Alone
  • What’s The News?
  • Nobody Knows, Nobody Cares
  • The Devil Has Thrown Him Down
  • Don’t Take Everybody To Be Your Friend
  • When I Move To The Sky
  • How Far From God
  • The Lord Followed Me
  • This Train
  • Didn’t It Rain?
  • Stretch Out
  • Beams Of Heaven

Disc: 3

  • Precious Memories
  • My Lord And I
  • Everybody’s Gonna Have A Wonderful Time
  • Lay Down Your Soul
  • Teach Me To Be Right
  • Up Above My Head I Hear Music In The Air
  • My Journey To The Sky
  • Move On Up A Little Higher
  • He Watches Me
  • He’s All I Need
  • Down By The River Side
  • My Lord’s Gonna Move This Wicked Race
  • Daniel In The Lion’s Den
  • Ninety Nine And A Half Won’t Do
  • White Christmas
  • Silent Night
  • He Arose From The Grave
  • Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?
  • Cain’t No Grave Hold My Body Down
  • Ain’t No Room In Church For Liars
  • I Heard My Mother Call My Name
  • The Natural Facts
  • Little Boy, How Old Are You?
  • Going Back To Jesus
  • Heaven Is Not My Home
  • Family Prayer



Sister Rosetta Tharpe was a gospel singer, songwriter and guitarist who was unique in her genre as the pioneer of performing gospel using an electric guitar, to the extent that many of her records and performances have been seen as early examples of rock ‘n’ roll, and she acquired the nicknames “the original soul sister” and “the Godmother of rock ‘n’ roll”. Rock ‘n’ roll artists like Elvis Presley and Little Richard, and blues guitarists like Eric Clapton and Jeff beck cite her as an influence. This 78-track 3-CD collection comprises a significant proportion of the A & B sides of her releases on the Decca label during this era, and includes releases with Lucky Millinder’s Orchestra, duets with fellow gospel singer Marie Knight, and tracks where she is accompanied by The Sam Price Trio. Her work strayed into the mainstream R&B market, and this collection includes her US R&B hits “Strange Things Happening Every Day”, “Precious Memories”, “Up Above My Head I Hear Music In The Air” and “Silent Night”. She was an artist who broke the mould of how gospel could be performed and this collection from a key era of her career is a substantial and entertaining showcase for her unique approach.



Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required