Skip James – The Complete 1931 Sessions (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 711574931217 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  ORG Music


Track List

Side A

  1. Devil Got My Woman
  2. If You Haven’t Any Hay Get on Down the Road
  3. Hard Luck Child
  4. Drunken Spree
  5. Little Cow and Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
  6. Be Ready When He Comes
  7. How Long “Buck”
  8. I’m So Glad
  9. Cherry Ball Blues

Side B

  1. Hard Time Killin’ Floor Blues
  2. 22-20 Blues
  3. 4 O’Clock Blues
  4. Jesus Is a Mighty Good Leader
  5. Yola My Blues Away
  6. What Am I to Do Blues
  7. Special Rider Blues
  8. Illinois Blues
  9. Cypress Grove Blues



Skip James was a Delta blues artist from Mississippi. Known for his career during the Great Depression and subsequent decades, he was “rediscovered” and became much more widely recognized during the 1960’s when he was in very poor health nearing the end of his life. His playing style was primarily in a minor key, featuring complex fingerpicking. After years of being out of print, The Complete 1931 Sessions, taken from James’ Paramount recordings, was remastered and reissued by Org Music on black vinyl. The reissue features new artwork and liner notes by author Larry Jaffee. The compilation is made up of some of the earliest years of the artist’s career and showcases the astounding talent he possessed from the very beginnin

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required