Smiley Lewis – I Hear You Knocking (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 5060149620618 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2013

Label:  Pure Pleasure Analogue


Track List

Side A

A1. The Bells Are Ringing
A2. Standing On The Corner
A3. Blue Monday
A4. Down The Road
A5. Last Week
A6. Real Gone Lover

Side B

B1. Bumpity Bump
B2. I Hear You Knocking
B3. I Can’t Believe It
B4. Hey Girl
B5. One Night
B6. Nothing But The Blues



Born with the unwieldy handle of Overton Lemons, Lewis hit the Big Easy in his mid-teens, armed with a big, booming voice and some guitar skills. He played clubs in the French Quarter, often with pianist Tuts Washington (and sometimes billed as ‘Smiling’ Lewis). As the New Orleans R&B sound developed rapidly during the early ’50s, so did Lewis. He scored his first national hit in 1952 with ‘The Bells Are Ringing’, but enjoyed his biggest sales in 1955 with the exultant ‘I Hear You Knocking’ (its immortal piano solo courtesy of Huey Smith).

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required