Steve Riley and the Mamou Playboys – Trace Of Time


Out of stock


Release Date:  1995

Label:  Rounder Records


Track List

1 Bayou Noir / Back Of Town Two-Step
2 Mon Vieux Wagon
3 Old Home Waltz
4 Church Point Breakdown
5 Parlez-Nous À Boire
6 Lovers’ Waltz (Instrumental)
7 Sur Le Courtableau
8 La Valse Du Regret
9 La Pointe-Au-Pic (Instrumental)
10 The Corner Post (Instrumental)
11 Zarico Est Pas Salé



  • Steve Riley – accordion, fiddle, guitar, vocals
  • Peter Schwarz – bass, fiddle, piano, vocals
  • Kevin Dugas – drums
  • Sonny Landreth – electric guitar track 11
  • David Greely – fiddle, vocals
  • Kevin Barzas – guitar



Steve Riley & the Mamou Playboys walk the fine line between fusing styles and perverting them, blending traditional Cajun with modern rock-tinged country. This session includes several vintage French-language numbers, plus fence straddlers like “Old Home Waltz,” “Lovers Waltz” and “The Corner Post.” The Mamou Playboys are good, exuberant harmonizers and have in guitarist Kevin Barzas the flamboyant personality who can extend their appeal without sacrificing their base. Riley is a good, if not great accordion player and steady vocalist.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required