Sweet Emma Barrett – New Orleans,The Living Legends: The Bell Gal & Her Dixieland Boys Featuring Jim Robinson


In stock


Release Date: 1961, 1994

Label: Riverside Records


Track List

  1. Bill Bailey
  2. Chinatown
  3. Down In Honky Tonk Town
  4. The Bell Gal’s Careless Blues
  5. I Ain’t Gonna Give Nobody None Of This Jelly Roll
  6. Just A Little While To Stay Here
  7. Tishomingo Blues
  8. When The Saints Go Marching In
  9. St. Louis Blues
  10. High Society
  11. Sweet Emma’s Blues



  • Emma Barrett – piano, vocals
  • Percy Humphrey – trumpet
  • Jim Robinson – trombone
  • Willie Humphrey – clarinet
  • Emanuel Sayles – guitar, banjo
  • McNeal Breaux – bass
  • Josiah Frasier – drums



This CD reissue of the future members of the Preservation Hall Jazz Band is at such a high level it makes one wonder why this group had so many erratic recordings. Pianist Emma Barrett (who also takes four vocals) is in fine form and trombonist Jim Robinson was always a major asset to any New Orleans jazz band, but it is the performances of trumpeter Percy Humphrey (who never sounded better on record) and his brother, clarinetist Willie, that really makes this music special. Together the septet plays such songs as “Bill Bailey,” “Just a Little While to Stay Here,” and “The Saints” with drive, enthusiasm, and surprising musicianship. It’s essential music for all New Orleans jazz fans.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required