Taj Mahal Sextet – Swingin’ Live At The Church In Tulsa (Vinyl 2LP)


In stock

SKU: 607396703913 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Lightning Rod


Track List

Side A

  1. Betty And Dupree
  2. Mailbox Blues
  3. Queen Bee

Side B

  1. Lovin’ In My Baby’s Eyes
  2. Waiting For My Papa To Come Home
  3. Slow Drag

Side C

  1. Sitting On Top Of The World
  2. Twilight In Hawaii

Side D

  1. Corrina
  2. Mean Old World




Pressed On Gold Swirl Vinyl

With his latest release, Swingin’ Live at the Church in Tulsa, Taj adds to his legendary legacy with an extraordinary set recorded at the Tulsa studio best known as the home base of the late, great Leon Russell. The ten songs reach across multiple genres that he has explored in his incomparable career, and feature his long-time quartet-bassist Bill Rich, drummer Kester Smith, and guitarist/Hawaiian lap steel player Bobby Ingano-augmented by dobro player Rob Ickes and guitarist and vocalist Trey Hensley. In a career spanning seven decades and almost 50 albums, Taj Mahal has not only helped popularize and reshape the scope of the blues, but he has also personified the concept of “World Music” since years before the phrase even existed. From a base of traditional country blues, Taj has explored and incorporated reggae, Latin, R&B, Cajun, Caribbean, gospel, West African, jazz, calypso, Hawaiian slack-key, and countless other musical styles into his astonishing body of work.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required