The Magnificent Seven – Live At Tipitina’s


In stock


Release Date: 2020

Label: Funky Krewe Records


Track List

  1. You Got Me Hummin’
  2. Doctor My Eyes
  3. Natural Born Days
  4. Lila
  5. Delta Lady
  6. Ballad Of A Well-Known Gun/Sea Cruise
  7. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
  8. Lucinda/Magnificent Seven/Cissy Strut



  • Dave Malone – vocals, guitars
  • Tommy Malone – vocals, guitars
  • Mark Mullins – vocals, trombone
  • John “Papa” Gros – vocals, piano, Hammond B3
  • Robert Mercurio – bass
  • Michael Skinkus – percussion
  • Raymond Weber – drums, backing vocals



From the opening notes of the great soul song, “You Got Me Hummin’” to the closer, a long medley of the Radiators’ song “Lucinda” jammed together with the theme song of the film from which the band takes its name and the Meters’ funk classic, “Cissy Strut,” the recording sizzles with great vocals, killer guitar solos, rock solid grooves and more.

Mark Mullins of the great funky rock band Bonerama adds some wonderful trombone solos driven into the stratosphere with wah-wah pedal effects. John Gros adds some downright nasty organ fills and solos with aplomb. Throughout the eight song, 70 minute album, the rhythm section percolates and pulses.

Highlights include the Malone brothers singing together as only brothers can on the opener and trading verses on Blind Faith’s rock classic “Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad.” Tommy Malone emotes on his Subdudes’ jewel “Natural Born Days.” Dave Malone tears up Jackson Browne’s “Doctor of My Eyes” and Gros brings his funky keyboard sound and gritty vocals to a medley of Elton John’s “Ballad of a Well-Known Gun” and Frankie Ford’s New Orleans R&B gem “Sea Cruise.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required