Tom Waits – Brawlers (Vinyl 2-LP Set)


Out of stock

SKU: 045778755011 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2018

Label:  Anti-


Track List

Side A

1. Lie To Me
2. LowDown
3. 2:19
4. Fish In The Jailhouse

Side B

1. Bottom Of The World
2. Lucinda
3. Ain’t Goin’ Down To The Well
4. Lord I’ve Been Changed

Side C

1. Puttin’ On The Dog
2. Road To Peace
3. All The Time

Side D

1. The Return Of Jackie And Judy
2. Walk Awa
3. Sea Of Love
4. Buzz Fledderjohn
5. Rains On Me



Brawlers presents probably the best-known of Tom Waits’ personalities, filled as it is with vocal cord damage, found percussion, old-timey arrangements, and cartoon-buzz lead guitar. It’s also the disc that flirts most dangerously with cliché, filled as it is with his well-trod inventory of Americana underbelly images: trains, jailhouses, barrooms, etc. However, the secret of Waits’ act is how well he deploys these should-be-tired cultural touchstones; at the very least, he sounds more comfortable in the role of a boxcar-hopper than he does reciting the ripped-from-the-headlines Middle East folk song “Road to Peace”. Certainly it helps that he continues to buck the aging rocker career trend of increasing cleanliness, wrapping these songs in dirt-grit production that keeps the Big Bopper warble of “Lie to Me” or the garage 12-bar Ramones cover “The Return of Jackie and Judy” from sounding like a House of Blues exhibit.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required