Twenty Miles – R.L. Boyce Othar Turner Fife and Drum Spam


In stock


Release Date: 1997

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

1. Intro

2. Junkyard

3. Place Called Hell

4. She Don’t Know

5. Piece Of Clay

6. My Back Door

7. I’m Not A Man

8. Come Right In

9. My Little Baby

10. Mississippi Bolero



Raw, minimalistic blues-rock with a punk attitude, the brothers Bauer welcome you to a “Place Called Hell.” Like Fat Possum’s straight blues releases, this has an almost documentary rehearsal production feel, with bashing drums that never settle into definite rhythms, harsh and often hard-to-decipher vocals, and frequent one-chord grooves. Fife drum patterns are heard in a few tunes, but despite the title they’re a pretty minor ingredient in the overall album. The vocals have some real weathered passion and the blues guitar riffs aren’t bad, but it does get monotonous, even grating, to mostly hear variations on one pissed-off song.

20 Miles was the blues-based side project of Jon Spencer Blues Explosion guitarist Judah Bauer and his drummer brother Donovan. Although the Bauer brothers had performed together since high school, 20 Miles did not officially come together until Judah finished work on the Blues Explosion LP Now I Got Worry; after entering the recording studio, the siblings recorded their raw 1996 debut, Ragged Backyard Classics — a triple 7″ package issued on the In the Red label — in less than four hours. A self-titled effort followed in 1997, and a year later 20 Miles returned with I’m a Lucky Guy.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required