Various ‎– Rocksteady Got Soul (Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 5026328004648 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Soul Jazz

Rocksteady Got Soul is a collection of uplifting and superb rocksteady and soulful reggae from the late 1960s and early 1970s. Studio One is the number one label in the history of reggae and the album features – as ever with Studio One – an impeccable and unbeatable line-up of reggae superstars, all soaring at the height of their creative powers. Alton Ellis, John Holt, The Heptones, Jackie Mittoo, The Ethiopians, Lee Perry and more. The album is a mix of classic tunes and rhythms alongside super-rarities that were released in a dazzlingly complex web of Studio One labels and issues, deftly navigated with new sleevenotes from author and Studio One authority Rob Chapman. But enough with the chatter, just spin the platter – these tunes rule the town, hands down!


Track List

Side A

  1. Alton Ellis – It’s True
  2. The Heptones – You Turned Away
  3. The Gladiators – Mr Sweet
  4. The Jail Breakers – Work It Up
  5. Lee Perry & the Gaylads – Run Rudie Run

Side B

  1. The Heptones – Young Generation
  2. Jackie Mittoo – Good Feeling
  3. C. Marshall – I Need Your Loving
  4. Alton Ellis – I’ll Be Waiting

Side C

  1. The Clarendonians – the Tables Gonna Turn
  2. Ken Parker – When You’re Gone
  3. Sound Dimension – Traveling Home
  4. Errol Dunkley – Get Up Now

Side D

  1. John Holt – My Heart Is Gone
  2. Freedom Singers and Larry Marshall – Monkey Man
  3. The Ethiopians – Let the Light Shine
  4. Im and David – Money Maker
  5. The Viceroys – Lose and Gain
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required