Various Artist – New Orleans Guitar ( 4-CD Set )


In stock


Release Date: 2001

Label: JSP Records


Track List

Disc: 1

  1. Turn On Your Volume Baby – Smiley Lewis
  2. Here Comes Smiley – Smiley Lewis
  3. Tee Nah Nah – Smiley Lewis
  4. Lowdown – Smiley Lewis
  5. Slide Me Down – Smiley Lewis
  6. Growing Old – Smiley Lewis
  7. If You Ever Loved A Women – Smiley Lewis
  8. Dirty People – Smiley Lewis
  9. Where Were You – Smiley Lewis
  10. My Baby – Smiley Lewis
  11. Sad Life – Smiley Lewis
  12. Bee’s Boogie – Smiley Lewis
  13. Don’t Jive Me – Smiley Lewis
  14. My Baby Was Right – Smiley Lewis
  15. The Bells Are Ringing – Smiley Lewis
  16. Lillie Mae – Smiley Lewis
  17. You’re Gonna Miss Me – Smiley Lewis
  18. Gypsy Blues – Smiley Lewis
  19. You’re Not The One – Smiley Lewis
  20. Gumbo Blues – Smiley Lewis
  21. Ain’t Gonna Do It – Smiley Lewis
  22. It’s So Peaceful – Smiley Lewis
  23. Caldonia’s Party – Smiley Lewis
  24. Lonesome Highway – Smiley Lewis
  25. Standing On The Corner – Smiley Lewis
  26. Oh Baby – Smiley Lewis


Disc: 2

  1. Big Mamou – Smiley Lewis
  2. Play Girl – Smiley Lewis
  3. I Love You For Sentimental Reasons – Smiley Lewis
  4. Lying Woman – Smiley Lewis
  5. Little Fernandez – Smiley Lewis
  6. It’s Music – Smiley Lewis
  7. Show Me The Way – Smiley Lewis
  8. Down The Road – Smiley Lewis
  9. Blue Monday – Smiley Lewis
  10. The Rocks – Smiley Lewis
  11. That Certain Door – Smiley Lewis
  12. Nobody Knows – Smiley Lewis
  13. Can’t Stop Loving You – Smiley Lewis
  14. Ooh La La – Smiley Lewis
  15. Too Many Drivers – Smiley Lewis
  16. Lost Weekend – Smiley Lewis
  17. Jailbird – Smiley Lewis
  18. Farewell – Smiley Lewis
  19. Real Gone Lover – Smiley Lewis
  20. Bumpity Bump – Smiley Lewis
  21. I Hear You Knocking – Smiley Lewis
  22. I Can’t Fly (Date With An Angel) – Boo Breeding
  23. My Love (She’s Gone) – Boo Breeding
  24. Low And Lowsome – Boo Breeding
  25. Country Women – Boo Breeding


Disc: 3

  1. Bad Luck Is On Me – Guitar Slim
  2. New Arrival – Guitar Slim
  3. Standin’ At The Station – Guitar Slim
  4. Cryin’ In The Mornin’ – Guitar Slim
  5. The Things I Used To Do – Guitar Slim
  6. Well I Done Got Over It – Guitar Slim
  7. The Story Of My Life – Guitar Slim
  8. Letter To My Girlfriend – Guitar Slim
  9. Trouble Don’t Last – Guitar Slim
  10. Later For You Baby – Guitar Slim
  11. Bad Luck Blues – Guitar Slim
  12. Twenty-Five Lies – Guitar Slim
  13. Sufferin’ Mind – Guitar Slim
  14. Stand By Me – Guitar Slim
  15. Guitar Slim – Guitar Slim
  16. Our Only Child – Guitar Slim
  17. Reap What You Sow – Guitar Slim
  18. I Want Love-A You – Guitar Slim
  19. Think It Over – Guitar Slim
  20. Quicksand – Guitar Slim
  21. You’re Gonna Miss Me – Guitar Slim
  22. I Got Sumpin’ For You – Guitar Slim
  23. Certainly All – Guitar Slim
  24. Goung Down Slow – Guitar Slim
  25. Something To Remember You By – Guitar Slim


Disc: 4

  1. Long Distance Blues – T-Bone Walker
  2. Got No Use For You – T-Bone Walker
  3. I’m Still In Love With You – T-Bone Walker
  4. Railroad Station Blues – T-Bone Walker
  5. When The Sun Goes Down – T-Bone Walker
  6. Pony Tail – T-Bone Walker
  7. Wanderin’ Heart – T-Bone Walker
  8. I’ll Always Be In Love With You – T-Bone Walker
  9. Win-O – Pee Wee Crayton
  10. Do Unto Others – Pee Wee Crayton
  11. Every Dog Has His Day – Pee Wee Crayton
  12. Hurry, Hurry – Pee Wee Crayton
  13. Eyes Full Of Tears – Pee Wee Crayton
  14. I Need Your Love – Pee Wee Crayton
  15. You Know – Yeah – Pee Wee Crayton
  16. Runnin’ Wild – Pee Wee Crayton
  17. My Idea About You – Pee Wee Crayton
  18. I Got News For You – Pee Wee Crayton
  19. Baby Don’t You Cry – Pee Wee Crayton
  20. Don’t Break My Heart – Pee Wee Crayton
  21. Wondering Why – Pee Wee Crayton
  22. Yours Truly – Pee Wee Crayton
  23. I Must Go On – Pee Wee Crayton
  24. Be Faithful – Pee Wee Crayton
  25. Blues Before Dawn – Pee Wee Crayton
  26. Don’t Go – Pee Wee Crayton


he New Orleans of a hundred years ago teemed with a host of pianists playing blues and boogie in establishments both legal and recreational. Then came the guitarists. Here’s one: ‘You ought to have heard Smiley Lewis in person – he made the walls rattle!’ said drummer Earl Palmer. Lewis was born in July 1913 in DeQuincy, LA. His mother may have died while he was young – a sister-in-law recalled the family moving to West Lake, LA, where he was raised by a stepmother. Somewhere in his teens, he took up the guitar. Then he ran across trumpeter Thomas Jefferson’s band which he joined. ‘(He) always was a good entertainer,’ Tuts Washington remembered. ‘He sang the blues and all of them sentimental numbers. He would walk off the bandstand and sing to the people in the audience. See, Lewis had a voice so strong he could sing over the band, and that was before we had microphones.’ During WW2, Lewis found work where he could – ending up in a band with Tuts. At the end of the war, the band split up but Smiley and Tuts recruited drummer Herman Seale to form a blues trio. ‘We had the hottest trio in town,’ Washington boasted. They also hung around J&M Records. The following year, the New York label DeLuxe came to record local talent, using J&M as a source. When DeLuxe returned in September 1947, Lewis’ trio was one of the acts he decided to record. No copy has ever turned up. Although popular around New Orleans, Smiley’s record failed on the national market. He was dropped by DeLuxe. Nevertheless, his status as a recording artist ensured that Smiley’s trio was in demand around Louisiana and for some months they had a residency at the Cinq Sou Hall, next door to the Dew Drop Inn. Occasionally, he would drop into the Dew Drop to make guest appearances with Dave Bartholomew’s orchestra, billing himself as ‘the drifting blues singer’. As with most of the other artists here, Lewis had a life of ups and downs (his ‘One Night’ was cut by Presley). He died in 1966.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required