Various Artists – New Orleans Brass Bands: Down Yonder


In stock


Release Date:  1989

Label:  Rounder Records


Track List

1 –The Rebirth Marching Jazz Band – When The Saints Go Marching In 6:27
2 –The Rebirth Marching Jazz Band – In The Sweet Bye And Bye 4:23
3 –The Rebirth Marching Jazz Band – All Blues 3:15
4 –The Rebirth Marching Jazz Band – My Song 5:04
5 –Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band – Down Yonder 8:42
6 –Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band – State Of The Blues 3:34
7 –Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band – Auld Lang Syne 3:38
8 –Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band – New Second Line 2:42
9 –Dejan’s Olympia Brass Band – No It Ain’t My Fault 4:00
10 –The Chosen Few Brass Band – Mardi Gras Iko 8:44
11 –The Chosen Few Brass Band – St. Louis Blues 4:59
12 –The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – Mardi Gras In New Orleans 5:24
13 –The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – Night Train 4:09
14 –The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – (Meet) The Flintstones 3:35



This Rounder CD features four different brass bands. Dejan’s Olympia Brass, the most traditional one, is not always in tune but shows plenty of spirit on its three numbers. The Chosen Few Brass Band is fine on “Mardi Gras Iko” and the young Rebirth Jazz Band (with trumpeter Kermit Ruffins) romps through “When the Saints Go Marching In” and “My Song.” But it is the R&B-ish Dirty Dozen Brass Band (performing “Mardi Gras in New Orleans” and “The Flintstones”) that has the strongest and most original personality. Overall, New Orleans Brass Bands: Down Yonder gives one a strong dose of New Orleans party music.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required