Various Artists – Not The Same Old Blues Crap Vol. 1


In stock


Release Date: 1997

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

  1. I’m Insane – T-Model Ford
  2. Meet Me In The City – Junior Kimbrough
  3. Come Right In – 20 Miles
  4. Snake Drive – R.L. Burnside
  5. Crack Whore Blues – The Neckbones
  6. Lonesome Road – Junior Kimbrough
  7. Have Mercy Baby – Jelly Roll Kings
  8. Come On In – R.L. Burnside
  9. Been Here And Gone – Elmo Williams
  10. Little Eddie Blues – Robert Cage
  11. Your Memories – Hasil Adkins



A sampler from the Fat Possum label that, as the title announces, really isn’t the same old blues crap. Fat Possum made its name as a home for raw 1990s juke-joint blues, and a lot of that is here in the cuts by Junior Kimbrough, R.L. Burnside, T-Model Ford, and Jelly Roll Kings. It’s straight-up electric guitar blues where the groove and spontaneous rhythms are more important than chord changes and tight song construction, which can be both a blessing and a curse; Jelly Roll Kings add some nice texture to the form with whirling organ. You also get some almost punkish blues-rock from 20 Miles and the Neckbones, who sound a little like a bluesy Cramps on “Crack Whore Blues.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required