Various Artists – Putumayo Presents New Orleans


In stock


Release Date:  2005

Label:  Putumayo World Music


Track List

1. Kermit Ruffins – Drop Me Off In New Orleans 4:28
2. Doc Cheatham & Nicholas Payton – I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues 3:20
3. Louis Prima – Basin Street Blues 2:06
4. Preservation Hall Hot 4 / Duke Dejan – Wrap Your Trouble In Dreams 4:48
5. Topsy Chapman And The Pros – Baby Won’t You Please Come Home 5:07
6. Kevin Clark And The Jazz Revelation – The Devil Done Got Me Blues 3:24
7. Louis Armstrong – Tin Roof Blues 2:59
8. Dr. John – Basin Street Blues 4:27
9. Dr. Michael – White Give It Up (Gypsy Second Line) 6:03
10. Deacon John – Going Back To New Orleans 2:45
11. Gregg Stafford & Dr. Michael White – Bye & Bye/Saints 8:02



Putumayo provides a nice introduction to Nawlins jazz here, with a pretty good mix of the classic and the contemporary. The music remains, despite its era or performer, fully of the New Orleans style. The patron saint of the city, as well as the genre, Louis Armstrong, is presented with one of his later recordings with an all-star band in 1966. Other mainstays of the city are here as well, with Dr. John playing “Basin Street Blues” as only he could, following a rendition of the same song by Louis Prima. Doc Cheatham’s here with some classic vocals as well. Beyond the well-known, though, there are some members of the newer groups of influence here. Kermit Ruffins has become a contemporary revivalist of the old sound and starts off the album as such. Kevin Clark and Michael White provide contemporary versions of the classic style as well. Through and through, it’s a fine introduction to the traditional genre.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required