Various Artists – Southern Bred: Louisiana & New Orleans R&B Rockers Vol. 16


In stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Koko Mojo

Track List

  • Calvin Spears – Doing The Rock And Roll
  • Rudy Green – Meet Me Baby
  • Henry Hayes Orch. & Elmore Nixon – Forgive Me Baby
  • Willie Egan & Orch. – I Can’t Understand It
  • Roy ”Baldhead” Byrd – Rockin’ With Fes
  • Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown – Baby Take It Easy
  • Long John & Orch. – She Used To Be My Woman
  • Earl King – Everybody’s Carried Away
  • Huey Smith & His Rhythm Aces – Little Liza Jane
  • Richard Berry – In A Real Big Way
  • Clifton Chenier – The Big Wheel
  • Bobby Mitchell & The Toppers – 4 X 11=44
  • Clarence W. Samuels – The Blazer’s Slippity
  • Lennie LaCour – Rockin’ Rosalie
  • Lloyd Price – Rock ‘N’ Roll Dance
  • Rudy Green – My Mumblin’ Baby
  • Donnie Elbert – Let’s Do The Stroll
  • Linda Hopkins – My Loving Baby
  • Johnny Adams With The Gondoliers – Come On
  • Donnie Elbert – Believe It Or Not
  • Jessie Thomas – Cool Kind Lover
  • Clarence Samuels – Got No Place To Call My Own
  • Champion Jack Dupree – Deacon’s Party
  • Little Walter – Teenage Beat
  • Eddie Lang – Easy Rockin’
  • Charles Williams – So Glad You’re Mine
  • Classie Ballou And His Tempo Kings Orch. – D-I-R-T-Y D-E-A-L
  • Linda Hopkins – Shiver And Shake



Rock ‘n’ Roll Dance Koko Mojo is the fourth Southern Bred exploration into the music from Louisiana and the Crescent City, New Orleans and the artists and newly introduced performers are intermixed throughout the series to make a more diverse assortment of sound and artist. Unquestionably the aural feeling of this album is varied, full of hot recordings and offers an eclectic assortment of recordings. Most importantly due to the time frame of the recordings the sound and style for some artist may have changed, no matter what the songs are “A” grade performances. As always, the sequence of artists and styles sit comfortably side by side and this album focuses on Rhythm & Blues, Rock ‘n’ Roll and up-tempo Blues music. The wealth of recorded material is amazing, and the Southern Bred artists are; Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, the adaptable Tommy Ridgely who this time is featured from his formative years, vocalist Elmore Nixon appears with Henry Hayes and His Orchestra, Willie Egan, Long John, Clarence Samuels and Charles Williams. Keeping the “gumbo” hot are, Rudy Green, Champion Jack Dupree, Roy ‘Baldhead’ Byrd, old-time Blues artist Jessie Thomas who updates his style and Little Eddie has changed identity and became the frantic rocker persona of Eddie Lang. The sound on Rock ‘n’ Roll Dance is enriched by the inclusion of; Jump Blues and Zydeco rockers from, Clifton Chenier, Classie Ballou and Little Walter who attempt to attract a younger following from his song title Teenage Beat. Hitmakers a-plenty adorn the album and the lesser-known and equally as good “none-hit” performers also offer “A” grade recordings. Huey Smith with His Rhythm Aces, Bobby Mitchell with his group The Toppers, Richard Berry, Lennie LaCour, Lloyd Price and His Band who give the album it’s title. From his pre-soul music years Doo Wop rocker Donnie Elbert has caught the stroll feeling, and Johnny Adams and Linda Hopkins round off the hit making assortment with their own inimitable sound.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required