Various Artists – Southern Bred: Louisiana & New Orleans R&B Rockers Vol. 17


In stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Koko Mojo

Track List

  • Mathew Jacobs – Loaded Down
  • Oscar McLollie and The Honey Jumpers – What You Call ‘Em Joe
  • Fats Domino – Dance With Mr. Domino
  • Chris Kenner – You Can’t Beat Uncle Sam
  • Art Neville – Too Much
  • Champion Jack Dupree and His Band – Chittlins & Rice
  • Elmore Nixon – The Women
  • Big Boy Myles – Just To Hold My Hand
  • Earl Palmer – Till I Kissed You
  • Ernie K-Doe – Real Man
  • Huey “Piano” Smith with His Clowns – Don’t You Know Yockomo
  • Jessie Thomas – It’s You I’m Thinking Of
  • Jimmy Wilson – Big Wheel Rolling
  • Alvin ”Red” Tyler – Snake Eyes
  • Roy Brown – Good Looking And Foxy Too
  • Sugar Boy – She’s Got A Wobble (When She Walks)
  • Lloyd Price and His Orchestra – The Chicken And The Bop
  • Larry Williams – Bad Boy
  • Lloyd and Willie – I Don’t Know Where She Went
  • Phillip Walker Band – I Want You For Myself
  • Clifton Chenier – Boppin’ The Rock
  • Rockin’ Sidney – I Would If I Could
  • Schoolboy Cleve – She’s Gone
  • Tommy Ridgley – When I Meet My Girl
  • Shirley And Lee – Everybody´s Rockin´
  • Smiley Lewis – Down Yonder We Go Ballin’
  • Clarence Samuels – Lolly Pop Mama
  • Boogie Jake – Early Morning Blues



The wealth of recorded material and variety of sound within Down Yonder We Go Ballin’ Koko Mojo (KM-CD67) allows return visits from artists of excellence namely: Oscar McLollie and The Honey Jumpers, Champion Jack Dupree and His Band, Roy Brown, Shirley And Lee, Huey “Piano” Smith, and Ernie K-Doe. Top-class R&B performers who for many people are relatively unknown comprise of: Lloyd (Rowe) and Willie (Egan), from his formative years Clarence Samuels is supported by Dave Young’s Orchestra, the suburb guitarist and vocalist Phillip Walker, Big Boy Myles and The Sha-Weez, and Jimmy Wilson. Smiley Lewis provides the album’s title Down Yonder We Go Ballin’ and the running order is enhanced by the presence of, Jump Blues and Zydeco rockers from, Mathew Jacobs and as his alter-ego Boogie Jake, Schoolboy Cleve, Rockin’ Sidney and Clifton Chenier. Hit makers who were stars regional and world-wide: Fats Domino, Chris Kenner, Larry Williams, Art Neville, Alvin ”Red” Tyler, bring into the album a solid blast of music diversity and include, and as always there is more to discover and some possible surprise inclusions. As with every album, there is more music to hear and enjoy and the vibrant music has a pleasing up-tempo feel throughout. Our albums have; stunning design, sleeve notes, twenty-eight songs, mastered for the best possible sound. The disc is housed in an attractively designed cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly. You are listening to music from the past and preserving the future! Koko Mojo Records “Often imitated, never duplicated”



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required