Various Artists – Southern Bred: Louisiana & New Orleans R&B Rockers Vol. 19


Out of stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Koko Mojo


Track List

  1. Fats Domino – Ain’t That Just Like A Woman
  2. Tommy Ridgley – Early Dawn Boogie
  3. James Sugarboy Crawford – I Don’t Need You
  4. Little Sonny Jones – Winehead Baby
  5. Nellie Lutcher & Her Rhythm – He’s A Real Gone Guy
  6. Jay Nelson – Don’t You Wanna Man Like Me
  7. Chuck Martin – Emma Lee
  8. Chick Carbo – In The Night
  9. Cookie – That’s What You Do To Me
  10. Herb Hardesty (vocal) Walter Papoose Nelson – Why Did We Have To Part
  11. Edie Bo – Hey Bo
  12. Paul Gayten – You Better Believe It
  13. Eddy Lang – I’m Beggin’ With Tears
  14. Ray Johnson & The Bystanders – A Yellow Mellow Hardtop
  15. Rolling Crew & Orchestra – Cryin’ Emma
  16. Chuck Carbo & His Band – Lucy Brown
  17. Lester Robertson & The Upsetters – My Girl Across Town
  18. Lonesome Sundown – Learn To Treat Me Better
  19. Sidney Simien & His All Stars – She’s My Morning Coffee
  20. Cookie & The Cupcakes – Close Up The Back Door
  21. Guitar Gable (vocal) King Karl – Walking In The Park
  22. Lester Robertson & His Band – Oh Babe
  23. Little Willie Egans & Orchestra – Treat Me Right
  24. Chris Kenner – Grandma’s House
  25. Clarence Garlow His Guitar & Orchestra – No No Baby
  26. Lennie LaCour – Jungle Rock
  27. Clarence Samuels – Boogie Woogie Blues
  28. Tal Miller – B-A-B-Y



You Better Believe It Koko Mojo (KMCD69) is the seventh and penultimate Southern Bred exploration into the music from Louisiana and the Crescent City, New Orleans and the artists and newly introduced performers are intermixed throughout the series to make a more diverse assortment of sound and artist. You Better Believe It Koko Mojo (KMCD69) embraces a wealth of early hit makers all of which have their own dynamic sound: Tommy Ridgley, Nellie Lutcher, Clarence Samuels, Paul Gayten, and Clarence Garlow whose featured song would soon become associated with rockabilly music. Merged into the music brew are artists offering a differing musical approach namely: Eddy Lang, Cookie and The Cupcakes, Sidney Simien, Rolling Crew, and Lester Robertson and The Upsetters. The plethora of artists embraces hit makers with compelling songs include: Fats Domino, Shirley and Lee, Johnny Adams, Chris Kenner, and Roland Cook, who performs as Cookie. Added in are some none hit rockers from stimulating and talented artists; Chuck Martin, Lennie La Cour, brothers Chick and Chuck Carbo individually, Tal Miller, Jay Nelson, band leader Herb Hardesty with vocals from Walter ‘Papoose’ Nelson, Lennie LaCour and many more! As with every album, there is more music to hear and enjoy and the vibrant music has a pleasing up-tempo feel throughout. Can your feet stay still? As with every album, there is more music to hear and enjoy and the vibrant music has a pleasing up-tempo feel throughout. Our albums have; stunning design, sleeve notes, twenty-eight songs, mastered for the best possible sound. The disc is housed in an attractively designed cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly You are listening to music from the past and preserving the future! Koko Mojo Records “Often imitated, never duplicated”




You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required