Various Artists – Southern Bred: Mississippi R&B Rockers Vol. 1


In stock


Release Date: 2019

Label: Koko Mojo


Track List

  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – My Own Boogie
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Stop Now Baby
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Come On Back Home
  • Arthur ‘Big Boy’ Crudup – Gonna Find My Baby
  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – Feed My Body To The Fishes
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Crazy About You Baby
  • Luther Huff – 1951 Blues
  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – Nelson Street Blues
  • Tiny Kennedy – Have You Heard About The Farmers Daughter
  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – Vanity Dresser Boogie
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Do It If You Wanna
  • Sherman ‘Blues’ Johnson And His Clouds Of Joy – Hot Fish
  • Bobo ‘Slim’ Thomas – Catfish Blues
  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – Take It Easy Baby
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Pontiac Blues
  • Tiny Kennedy – Blues Disease
  • Big Joe Williams – Mama Don’t Allow Me
  • Willie Love And His Three Aces – Everybody’s Fishing
  • Arthur ‘Big Boy’ Crudup – Make A Little Love
  • Tiny Kennedy – Strange Kinda Feeling
  • Elmore James – Dust My Broom
  • Willie Love And 3 Aces – Way Back
  • Elmer James – Gonna Find My Baby
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – I Cross My Heart
  • Big Joe Williams – She Left Me A Mule
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Too Close Together
  • Jerry McCain – Stay Out Of Automobiles
  • Willie Love And 3 Aces – Shout Brother, Shout



My Own Boogie’ (KM-CD-34) is the first ‘Koko Mojo’ album from a series of five albums which will look at Mississippi born artists. This album has two none Delta artists included due to their association with the ‘Trumpet’ label Numerous artists migrated from their birth place, and for many Chicago was the blues mecca and the concept is therefore to offer an insight of artists from their origin. Within this series the auditory of those who stayed within their home region is clear, and for those who migrated mainly the backing was different, the blues became ‘electric’. None the less rarely were the downholme blues intonations none apparent in the big city recordings. The African American folk traditions no matter where the musicians travelled were deep inside these performers. Within this album we look at recordings from the Jackson Mississippi Trumpet label, some of which were issued on other labels. Every album has sleeve notes and 28 songs, mastered for the best possible sound available. The disc is housed in a cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly. The albums are great to play at home and perfect for Dee Jays who within a few CD albums will find good dance-floor filling songs.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required