Various Artists – Southern Bred: Mississippi R&B Rockers Vol. 3


In stock


Release Date: 2019

Label: Koko Mojo


Track List

  • Willie Dixon – Don’t Tell Nobody
  • Doctor Ross – My Be Bop Gal
  • Bo Diddley – You All Green
  • Earl Hooker – Earl’s Boogie Woogie
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
  • Muddy Waters with Rhythm Acc. – You’re Gonna Miss Me (When I’m Dead And Gone)
  • Magic Sam – Love Me With A Feeling
  • John Lee Hooker – Walkin’ The Boogie
  • Jackie Brenston with Ike Turners Kings Of Rhythm – Gonna Wait For My Chance
  • Smokey Smothers – I’ve Been Drinking Muddy Water
  • Bo Diddley – Shank
  • Otis Rush – If You Were Mine
  • Sonny Boy Williamson – Bring It On Home
  • Sammy Myers with King Mose Royal Rockers – My Love Is Here To Stay
  • Otis Spann – I’m Leaving You
  • Elmore James – Stranger Blues
  • B.B. King – Tickle Britches
  • Howlin’ Wolf – Tryin’ To Forget You
  • Rufus “Bearcat” Thomas – The Easy Livin’ Plan
  • Little Johnny Jones – Hoy Hoy
  • Clayton Love – Mary Lou
  • Arthur Crudup – That’s All Right Mama
  • Kid Thomas – Wolf Pack
  • Papa Lightfoot – Jumpin’ With Jarvis
  • Sunnyland Slim – Going Back To Memphis
  • Dusty Brown – Hurry Home
  • Howlin’ Wolf – Who Will Be Next
  • The Earthworms (Little Milton & Oliver Sain) – Fishtail



The Easy Living Plan’ Southern Bred Mississippi R&B Rockers (KM-CD-36) is our third ‘Koko Mojo’ album in the roots Mississippi series. This album includes down home and big city electric blues, and some jiving rhythm ‘n’ blues. On many recordings perhaps due to developing recording techniques and better-quality microphones the recordings sound musically stronger and clearer. Each and every track is a sure-fire hit, and the emphasis is firmly based on exciting and vivacious blues music. The album features Chicago kingpin Willie Dixon, the amazing one-man band Dr. Ross, a man who was at the dawn of the change from blues to rock ‘n’ roll Jackie Brenston, the wild and exotic Kid Thomas and more! Historically numerous artists migrated from their birthplace, and for many Chicago was the blues mecca. Within this series the auditory of those who stayed within their home areas is clear, and for those who migrated mainly the backing was different, the blues became ‘electric’. None the less rarely were the downholme blues intonations not apparent in the early big city recordings. The African American folk traditions no matter where the musicians travelled were deep inside these performers. This ‘Koko Mojo’ album is compiled by well-known Dee Jay and face on the music scene Mark Armstrong, who has been Dee Jaying since his early teen years. Our albums have; stunning design, sleeve notes, 28 songs, mastered for the best possible sound available. The disc is housed in an attractively designed cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly. The album is great to play at home and perfect for Dee Jays who will find good dance-floor filling songs.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required