Various Artists – Southern Bred: The Hot Thirty Picks


In stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Koko Mojo


Track List

  • Sonny Boy Williamson with Willie Love – Too Close Together
  • John Lee Hooker – Leave My Wife Alone
  • Willie Dixon – Don’t Tell Nobody
  • Howlin’ Wolf – Wang-Dang-Doodle
  • Big Bill Broonzy & His Big Little Orchestra – Tomorrow
  • Sonny Boy Williamson with Willie Love and Elmore James – Do It If You Wanna
  • Clayton Love – Mary Lou
  • Little Johnny Jones & The Chicago Hound Dogs – I May Be Wrong
  • Earl Hooker – Frog Hop
  • Amos Milburn and His Aladdin Chickenshackers – Birmingham Bounce
  • Lee Graves with Henry Hayes And His Rhythm Kings – I’m From Texas
  • Bobby Day – Ain’t Gonna Cry No More
  • Harmonica Slim – Going Back Home
  • Baldemar Huerta – El Rock De La Prison
  • Cledus Harrison & Band – Rock And Roll In The Groove
  • Gene Forrest & Four Feathers with Chuck Higgins and His Orchestra – Wiggle
  • Joe Tex – She’s Mine
  • Ernie Fields Orchestra – Teen Flip
  • Floyd Dixon – Roll Baby Roll
  • Earl King – You Can Fly High
  • Larry Williams – You Bug Me Baby
  • Drifting Charles – Evil Hearted Woman
  • Linda Hopkins – Shiver And Shake
  • Fats Domino – Dance With Mr Domino
  • Earl Palmer – Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
  • Paul Gayten – You Better Believe It
  • The Heart – Throbs So Glad
  • Chuck Carbo and His Band – Lucy Brown
  • Lloyd Price and His Orchestra – The Chicken And The Bop
  • H.B. Barnum – Don’t Cha Know



It all began with an idea to make available the Rural Rustic Blues recordings of Willie Love and some of his fellow Trumpet artists, and the demand was unprecedented, and from the music-buying public’s interest, the series was continued. The Southern States sofar visited are; Mississippi (KMCD034 – 038), Texas (KMCD039 – 049 and 062), and Louisiana and New Orleans (KMCD063 – 070). The titles on this promotional disc are selected from the twenty albums and 560 songs used throughout the series. As every song is of quality through our “killer no filler” philosophy this coordinator had great difficulty selecting thirty highlights for your listening pleasure, and through endeavor accomplished the task. I have chosen thirty of my favorite songs from the series for the promotional disc, one of which is my all-time pick from the twenty albums. Every Southern Bred album has; stunning design, is adorned with photographs, the sleeve-notes are engaging and include short biographical information, interesting facts, and anecdotes about the artist. Within the promotional album sleeve, there is a “standalone” twelve-page booklet that doubles up as a catalog introducing each release with a front cover, full track-listing, and purchasing info. Through the Koko Mojo series, we endeavor to go deeper with research and the selection of recordings, to give you better value for your money and listening pleasure! The albums are mastered by our sound expert of choice, Heiko Shultz who works from Black Shack Studio, Calw, Germany. The design for the series involves a team enterprise from two talented artists from our team, Sven Uhrmann, and Michael van Merwyk. The disc is housed in an attractively designed cardboard sleeve, specially designed to avoid the use of plastic and be environmentally friendly. You are listening to music from the past and preserving the future! The story does not end here, check out the press or your dealer of choice for future Southern Bred R&B Rockers albums.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required