Various Artists – The Big Easy – Five Classic Albums From New Orleans Plus Seven Bonus Tracks (2 CDS)


Out of stock


Release Date: 2024

Label: Avid Records


Track List

Disc: 1

1-12: ‘Clarence ‘Frogman’ Henry: You Always Hurt The One You Love’
1. But I Do
2. I Want To Be A Movie Star
3. Oh, Why
4. Your Picture
5. Live It Right
6. Never, Never
7. You Always Hurt The One You Love
8. Little Suzy
9. I Love You, Yes I Do
10. Steady Date
11. Just My Baby And Me
12. Oh, Mickey
13-23: ‘Lee Dorsey: Ya Ya’
13. Ya Ya
14. Give Me You
15. Do-Re-Mi
16. People Gonna Talk
17. Chin Chin
18. Mess Around
19. Eenie Meenie Mini Mo
20. One And One
21. Yum Yum
22. Ixie Dixie Pixie Pie
23. Behind The Eight-Ball
24-29: ‘Barbara George: I Know’
24. I Know
25. Whip O Will
26. Since I Fell For You
27. Don’t Ask Me No Questions
28. Without Love
29. Talk About Love
30. Clarence Henry: Ain’t Got No Home (Bonus Track)
31. Lee Dorsey: Lover Of Love (Bonus Track)
32. Chris Kenner: I Like It Like That (Bonus Track)
33. Barbara Lynn: You’ll Lose A Good Thing (Bonus Track)

Disc: 2

1-6: ‘Barbara George: I Know’
1. Love
2. I Never Knew
3. Hurted
4. I’m In A Strain
5. Honest I Do
6. Let’s Steal Away
7-18: ‘Joe Jones: You Talk Too Much’
7. You Talk Too Much
8. I Love You Still
9. Take A Little Walk
10. Every Night About Eight
11. McDonald’s Daughter
12. Tell Me What’s Happening
13. One Big Mouth (Two Big Ears)
14. Here’s What You Gotta Do
15. I Need Someone
16. Where Is My Baby
17. Always Picking On Me
18. To Prove My Love To You
19-30: ‘Ernie K-Doe: Mother-In-Law’
19. Mother-In-Law
20. Make You Love Me
21. Te-Ta-Te-Ta-Ta
22. Hurry Up And Know It
23. Tain’t It The Truth
24. Rub Dub Dub
25. Hello My Lover
26. There’s A Will, There’s A Way
27. Heebie Jeebies
28. Wanted $10,000.00 Reward
29. Waiting At The Station
30. She’s Waiting
31. Ernie K-Doe: A Certain Girl (Bonus Track)
32. Ernie K-Doe: I Cried My Last Tear (Bonus Track)
33. Fats Domino: It Keeps Rainin’ (Bonus Track)



AVID R&B presents the latest release in our Five Classic Albums Plus series with a re-mastered 2CD release The Big Easy, complete with original artwork, liner notes, personnel details.
“Clarence “Frogman” Henry: You Always Hurt The One You Love”; “Lee Dorsey: Ya Ya”; “Barbara George: I Know!”; “Joe Jones: You Talk Too Much”; “Ernie K Doe: Mother In Law” plus 7 bonus tracks.
At the time of this writing we heard the sad news of the passing on April 7th 2024 at age 87 years of Clarence “Frogman” Henry. We would like to dedicate this classic album release to him.
For our latest R&B compilation AVID have chosen five artists all born in New Orleans, the home of rhythm & blues. Fittingly we kick off with the late Clarence “Frogman” Henry, whose croaking vocal on one of his hits “Aint Got No Home” was to bequeath him his life-long nickname “Frogman”. Covered famously by The Band on the opening track of their 1973 Moondog Matinee album, this track can be found amongst the bonus songs on CD1. We also include both his greatest hits (I Don’t Know Why I Love You (But I Do) and You Always Hurt The One You Love. Lee Dorsey comes next with his “Ya Ya” album made after a meeting with legendary New Orleans writer and producer Allen Toussaint in 1961 and featuring his million selling hit “Ya Ya”. Famously Lee Dorsey after a short hiatus, would later go on to have two massive hits in the sixties, Holy Cow and Working In A Coalmine, again working with Toussaint, but Ya Ya is where it all started for him! Barbara George comes next and you could be forgiven for not knowing her very well or even at all! However, her talent is on display here on her one and only album where she wrote 11 of the 12 songs featured, including her massive Billboard Number 3 hit “I Know”. Covered by no less than the likes of Ike & Tina Turner, Freddie King. The Merseybeats and much later the great Bonnie Raitt, herself a great champion of the blues and R&B. Hovering over piano and tenor sax duties here is the legendary producer Harold Battiste. Joe Jones is up next with his only album release named after his big hit “You Talk Too Much”, the single of which hit number 3 in the 1961 Billboard charts. Harold Battiste again turns up playing tenor sax this time. Joe’s big claim to fame was in discovering The Dixie Cups and possibly Shirley & Lee, although history tells us we must be a little careful with the credits Joe claimed for himself! He did however go on to be a leading advocate for black R&B music publishing rights when he formed his own publishing company in 1973. Finally we come to Ernie K Doe whose Billboard Number 1 hit, “Mother In Law” is the title of his one and only album and the name Allen Toussaint again appears as the producer and writer along with Ernie who is also credited with writing most of the other songs on the album.





You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required