Various Artists – The Rough Guide To Memphis Blues (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 605633141146 Categories: , Tags: , , ,



Release Date: 2024

Label:  World Music Network


Track List

Side A

  1. Jed Davenport & his Beale Street Jug Band – Save Me Some
  2. Sleepy John Estes – The Girl I Love She Got Long Curly Hair
  3. Memphis Minnie – North Memphis Blues
  4. Minnie Wallace – The Old Folks Started It
  5. Robert Wilkins – Falling Down Blues
  6. Memphis Jug Band – On The Road Again
  7. Hattie Hart – I Let My Daddy Do That

Side B

  1. Furry Lewis – Kassie Jones – Part 1
  2. Cannon’s Jug Stompers – Viola Lee Blues
  3. Allen Shaw – I Couldn’t Help It
  4. Jack Kelly and his South Memphis Jug Band – Cold Iron Bed
  5. Tom Dickson – Happy Blues
  6. Frank Stokes – How Long Blues



180-gram vinyl

Various artists take on classic Memphis blues tunes

From the classic sounds of the jug band heyday to the earthy blues straight from the Mississippi Delta, Memphis was at the very epicentre of the 1920s country blues explosion. This Rough Guide charts the city’s huge influence with classic tracks by blues legends Memphis Minnie, Furry Lewis, Sleepy John Estes and many more.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required