Various Artists – The Secret Museum of Mankind: Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue To Modern Styles (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 877746003042 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Jalopy Records


Track List

Side A

1. Oudi Jorgh i – Vlach Longassi
2. Guillermo Gomez – Guajiras
3. Jack Gregory – Minore Tou Teke
4. Sam – Kweku Ewoosi
5. Giuseppe Cammarato – Recordi?
6. Jeronimo Villarino – Sevillanas
7. Pierre Borel, Polo Quilici – Complainte Corse

Side B

1. Cuarteto Aguilar – Fiesta Mora En Tanger
2. Dakshina Mohan Tagore, Sujit Nath – Ragini “Pilu”
3. Ramón Montoya, Amalio Cuenca – Solea
4. “S. Giorgiadis” – Pireotiko Taximi
5. Maestro Pasquale Taraffo – Serenatella Spagnuala
6. Agustin P. Barrios – Marcha Paraguaya
7. Moses Zwe-Zwe – Khumbula Ubaba
8. Les Frères Joyal – Petit Boogie
9. Anonymous – Guitar Players Papua New Guinea (Excerpt)



Curated by 78-rpm record collector Pat Conte, ‘The Secret Museum of Mankind: Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue to Modern Styles’, is the first new volume in the legendary series since 1998. It is also the first volume of the Secret Museum to focus on a specific instrument, the guitar. This new Secret Museum volume seeks to show the diverse range of guitar sounds and styles developed and practiced across the globe. ‘The Secret Museum of Mankind: Guitars Vol. 1: Prologue to Modern Styles’ presents guitar and guitar related music, recorded across the world from Spain, to Papua New Guinea, Greece to Ghana to India and more. The collection is drawn from Conte’s pioneering and remarkable personal collection of 78-rpm discs, recorded in the 1920’s-1950’s. The album is available via digital download and on vinyl, in a beautiful gatefold package. It includes a liner notes booklet by curator Pat Conte, original drawings of rare and unique guitars in Conte’s collection, by artist Jeff Tocci, and beautifully remastered audio by Don Fierro. Additionally, the interior gatefold design features a selection of historic images of guitarists, also curated by Conte and drawn from his collection.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required