Victor Goines – New Adventures


In stock

SKU: 8712474127429 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date: 2006

Label: Criss Cross Jazz


Track List

  1. Stop ‘N’ Go
  2. Pres’ New Clarinet
  3. The Nearness Of You
  4. Eternal Devotion
  5. Cochise
  6. Waltz Beneath The Weeping Willow
  7. Petite Fleur
  8. New Adventures
  9. As We Mature (We Learn To Take Our Time)



  • Victor Goines – tenor & soprano sax, clarinet
  • Peter Martin – piano
  • Carlos Henriquez – bass
  • Greg Hutchinson – drums



A member of the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra and the Wynton Marsalis Septet for more than a decade, Victor Goines – who also runs the Jazz Department at the New York’s Juilliard School of Music – hasn’t had much time to present his own vivid musical vision.

Like his three previous solo dates, Goines’ Criss Cross leader debut is a swinging affair.

The leader, a clarinet master of long standing, also focuses here on the tenor and soprano saxophone, showcasing a swaggering, romantic approach to the former and a pure, melodic concept on the latter.

The program mixes jazz standards and pungent originals; propelling the proceedings is the top-notch rhythm section you expect to hear on a Criss Cross date – pianist Peter Martin, LCJO bassist Carlos Henriquez, and drummer Greg Hutchinson.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required