Wailing Souls ‎– Wild Suspense (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 0600753935590 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Music On Vinyl


Track List

Side A

  1. Row Fisherman
  2. Slow Coach
  3. We Got To Be Together
  4. Feel The Spirit
  5. Bredda Gravilicious

Side B

  1. Wild Suspense
  2. They Never Know
  3. Black Rose
  4. Something Funny
  5. Very Well



The Jamaican reggae group The Wailing Souls was formed in 1965. They released their debut album Wild Suspense through Island Records in 1979, after their singles releases through Channel One became popular. Wild Suspense became a roots reggae stemple, renowned for its staggering musicianship. The album contains a mix of Studio One do-overs (such as “Row Fisherman” and “Feel the Spirit”), a handful of self-productions with added horns (“Bredda Gravalicious”, “Very Well”) and tunes by Rudolph “Garth” Dennis (“Slow Coach”) and George “Buddy” Hayes (“Wild Suspense”). Wild Suspense, overall, contains a reflective and thoughtful body of music, with beautiful harmony singing and majestic instrumentation.



Alto Saxophone – Cedric Brooks
Art Direction – Dennis Morris
Bass – ‘Ranchie’ McLean
Congas, Bongos – Noel ‘Scully’ Simms
Cover – Paul Smykle
Drums – Lowell ‘Sly’ Dunbar
Executive-Producer – Erskine Thompson
Flugelhorn, Cornet – Dickage
Harmony Vocals – George “Buddy” Haye, Lloyd “Bread” McDonald, Rudolph “Garth” Dennis, Winston “Pipe” Matthews
Lead Guitar – Rad ‘Duggie’ Bryan
Lead Vocals – Winston “Pipe” Matthews
Mixed By – Terry Barham
Organ – Ansell ‘Pinkie’ Collins
Percussion – ‘Sticky’ Thompson
Piano – ‘Tarzan’ Nelson
Producer – Wailing Souls
Rhythm Guitar – ‘Bopee’ Bowen, Robert ‘Robbie’ Shakespeare
Tenor Saxophone – Headley Bennett
Trombone – Rico, Vin Gordon

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required