Will Bernard – Freelance Subversives


In stock

SKU: 74892681380 Categories: , , , Tag:


Release Date: 2020

Label: Ropeadope


Track List

  1. Pusher Danish
  2. Back Channel
  3. Raffle
  4. Blue Chenille
  5. Grunk
  6. Clafunj
  7. Freelance Subversive
  8. Lifer
  9. Garage A
  10. Skillset
  11. We The People



Bernard’s inclusive nature has resulted in a catalog spanning everything from traditional jazz to world music to hip-hop. The benefits include a dexterity that gives him equal footing in clean hollow-bodied guitar tones, as on the opening raveup “Pusher Danish,” and distortion and effects on subsequent funk numbers like “Back Channel,” both aided by keyboardist Eric Finland, bassist Ben Zwerin, drummer Eric Kalb, and percussionist Moses Patrou. More than a tinge of the guitarist’s work in the side trio of Galactic’s New Orleans-born drummer Stanton Moore surfaces in Big Easy feels like the strutting “Raffle,” with Finland and fellow keyboardist Ben Stivers dueling it out and tenor/baritone saxophonist Skerik forming a one-man overdubbed horn section.

Jay Rodriguez does likewise on tenor and baritone saxes and flute on the greasy funk numbers “Grunk,” “Skill Set” (which features a banner, bop-inspired Bernard solo), and the title track, and John Medeski adds his signature Hammond and Wurlitzer parts to the infectious “Clafunj” and acidic, tribal-sounding ballad “Garage A” on this all-original disc.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required