Willie Mitchell – It’s Dance Time


In stock

SKU: 76798112162 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date: 2011

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

  1. Introduction
  2. Buster Browne
  3. Ram- Bunk-Shus
  4. Poinciana
  5. Morning After
  6. Since I Met You Baby
  7. When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  8. Twine Time
  9. In The Mood
  10. Wiggle Rock
  11. Woodchopper’s Ball
  12. Fever
  13. Apple Jack



It’s Dance Time begins with an introductory run-through of the days popular steps, a brief warm-up for the listener. From there, Willie Mitchell delivers his usual solid set of instrumentals. While the album doesn’t quite match up to Mitchell’s best album, That Driving Beat, it does have plenty of highlights, including the swaggering “Buster Browne” and “Shake”-styled “When My Dreamboat Comes Home,” complete with a lively fuzz-guitar and nice drum breaks. As with most Mitchell albums, most of the songs are over in two minutes’ time, quickly moving on to the next dance craze, and the tracks include many tasteful cover versions. Those on It’s Dance Time include “Twine Time,” “Fever,” and a bluesy “Since I Met You Baby.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required