Wynton Marsalis – Standard Time Vol. 2 Intimacy Calling


In stock

SKU: 886972412122 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2008

Label:  Columbia Records


Track List

1 When It’s Sleepytime Down South 5:10
2 You Don’t Know What Love Is 6:23
3 Indelible And Nocturnal 4:11
4 I’ll Remember April 8:34
5 Embraceable You 7:15
6 Crepuscule With Nellie 3:04
7 What Is This Thing Called Love? 6:29
8 The End Of A Love Affair 3:12
9 East Of The Sun (West Of The Moon) 5:16
10 Lover 5:05
11 Yesterdays 9:36
12 Bourbon Street Parade 5:47



Alto Saxophone – Wes Anderson* (tracks: 6)
Bass – Reginald Veal (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 12), Robert Hurst (tracks: 7)
Drums – Herlin Riley (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 12), Jeff Watts* (tracks: 12)
Piano – Marcus Roberts (tracks: 1 to 11)
Tenor Saxophone – Todd Williams (tracks: 4, 6)
Trumpet – Wynton Marsalis



Wynton Marsalis’s second of three standard albums was actually released after the third volume. On most of the selections, the brilliant trumpeter is heard in excellent form with his quartet (comprised of pianist Marcus Roberts, bassist Reginald Veal or Robert Hurst and either Herlin Riley or Jeff Watts on drums); tenorman Todd Williams helps out on “I’ll Remember April” and altoist Wes Anderson is also added to “Crepuscule with Nellie.” Marsalis’s tone really makes the ballads worth hearing, and his unusual choice and placement of notes keeps the music stimulating. This mostly bop-oriented set is rounded off by a jaunty version of “Bourbon Street Parade.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required