Yusef Lateef – Cry! – Tender (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 7427255403630 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Sowing Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Sea Breeze
  2. Dopolous
  3. Cry!-Tender
  4. Butter’s Blues

Side B

  1. Yesterdays
  2. The Snow Is Green
  3. If You Could See Me Now
  4. Ecaps



The oboe, a double-reed creature that bites inattentive handlers, made its first appearance as a member of Yusef Lateef’s performing instrument collection in 1959, on this album. Lateef, to the interest of many and no one’s surprise, had become the maverick’s master, as he already was of the tenor saxophone and the flute.

Another color had been added to the palette of an artist whose life has been an expansion of possibilities in the art of wedding the exotic to the fundamental. A collection that brings moodiness, lyricism, down-home earnestness, and the whiff of sandalwood into fine balance, Cry!–Tender is one of the jewels of the early discography of a musician of passion, integrity, and scope.


  • Yusef Lateef – (tenor sax, flute, oboe)
  • Lonnie Hillyer – (trumpet)
  • Hugh Lawson – (piano)
  • Herman Wright – (bass)
  • Frank Gant – (drums)
  • Wilbur Harden – (flugelhorn on B4)
  • Ernie Farrow – (bass on B4)
  • Oliver Jackson – (drums on B4)
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required