Yusef Lateef – Eastern Sounds (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8436559469548 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Waxtime


Track List

Side A

  1. The Plum Blossom
  2. Blues For The Orient
  3. Chinq Miau
  4. Don’t Blame Me
  5. You’ve Changed (bonus track)

Side B

  1. Love Theme From Spartacus
  2. Snafu
  3. Purple Flower
  4. Love Theme From The Robe
  5. The Three Faces Of Balal



Whether his albums appeared under the logo of the forward-looking New Jazz, the contemplative Moodsville, or the parent label, Yusef Lateef never failed to offer a singular blend of jazz verities and cross-cultural initiatives in his years as a Prestige artist. Eastern Sounds, originally presented as a Moodsville disc, satisfied its initial mandate with tender readings of two movie themes and a luxurious “Don’t Blame Me,” while also including hard-swinging tenor sax (“Snafu”), soulful oboe (“Blues for the Orient”), and such iconoclastic colors as the sound of the Chinese globular flute and the Indian rabat (both heard on “The Plum Blossom”). A stellar working band, featuring fellow Detroiter Barry Harris on piano, helps the multi-instrumental pioneer Lateef realize his one-world vision of a music that knows neither stylistic boundaries nor expressive limitations.

Bass, Rabab [Rabat] – Ernie Farrow
Composed By – Yusef Lateef (tracks: A1 to A3, B2, B3, B5)
Drums – Lex Humphries
Piano – Barry Harris
Recorded By – Rudy Van Gelder
Tenor Saxophone, Oboe, Flute – Yusef Lateef

Hackensack, New Jersey, September 5 1961

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required