Z.Z. Hill – Greatest Hits


In stock

SKU: 04802174372 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 1990

Label: Malaco


Track List

  1. Cheatin’ In The Next Room
  2. Down Home Blues
  3. Please Don’t Let Our Good Thing End
  4. Right Arm For Your Love
  5. Open House At My House
  6. Someone Else Is Steppin’ In
  7. Get A Little, Give A Little
  8. Shade Tree Mechanic
  9. Three Into Two Won’t Go
  10. Stop You From Givin’ Me The Blues
  11. Friday Is My Day



When he died in 1984 at the relatively young age of 48, Z.Z. Hill went down in history as a great blues singer. But he was also an excellent soul singer, and this 1990 CD reminds us that he had as much to do with earthy, gospel-drenched Southern soul as he did with B.B. King-influenced electric blues. Focusing on Hill’s Malaco output, Greatest Hits contains some inspired 12-bar numbers (including “Open House at My House,” “Shade Tree Mechanic” and Denise LaSalle’s “Someone Else Is Steppin’ In”) but is just as heavy in its R&B content. “Right Arm for Your Love,” “Get a Little, Give a Little” and “Cheatin’ in the Next Room” serve as fine examples of his unpretentious approach to Stax-influenced soul. And, of course, the CD boasts what became Hill’s signature song, the infectious “Down Home Blues.” For those who haven’t experienced the impressive material Hill was delivering during the last years of his life, this CD would be the appropriate starting point.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required