Zigaboo Modeliste – New Life


In stock

SKU: 884501508759 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  2011

Label:  JZM Records


Track List

  1. Les Bon Temps Roule
  2. New Life
  3. Human Race
  4. Holiday Kiss
  5. At The Mardi Gras
  6. Ate Ball Waltz
  7. Tough Nuts
  8. Was Not Meant To Be
  9. Keep On Groovin
  10. Let It Go



Zig gives his fans exactly what they want from him: Meters-style grooves and songs with New Orleans-related themes. The instrumental “Ate Ball Waltz” is a great piece of Metersiana built on a catchy, climb-up riff perfectly articulated by Zig and bassist Marc Pero with percussionist Bill Summers adding that soulful clave touch. “New Life,” another Meters-style syncopation, gets even more pop from Pero and Summers, who also deliver the goods on the topical “Human Race,” a sentiment especially salient in the wake of the racist pushback organized by the Republican Party against President Barack Obama. “Holiday Kiss” is a gorgeous R&B ballad sweetened by great keyboard parts from Joe Krown and Larry Sieberth, a trio of background singers and Wardell Quezergue’s deftly arranged string section. Getting just the right touch to keep the strings from sounding saccharine is one of Quezergue’s specialties and a key reason why this song is so memorable.

The real paydirt here is the reunion of the Meters rhythm section on the intense “Keep on Groovin.” It’s not reminiscent of the Meters, but it’s Zig with George Porter, Jr. pounding away on this punchy piece of New Millennium funk. This tune is Zig’s most complete realization of an updated sound with guitarist Shane Theriot adding a searing break, Summers popping the groove, and a horn section adding terse accents. It’s the perfect touch to grace a satisfying album from one of the greatest drummers New Orleans has ever produced.–John Swenson, OffBeat Magazine, June 2011 issue.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required