Al Green – Explores Your Mind (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 767981114514 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2021

Label:  Fat Possum Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Sha-La-La (Make Me Happy)
  2. Take Me to the River
  3. God Blessed Our Love
  4. The City
  5. One Nite Stand

Side B

  1. I’m Hooked on You
  2. Stay with Me Forever
  3. Hangin’ on
  4. School Days



By the time of 1974’s Al Green Explores Your Mind, this version of the Memphis sound was the production style for only a handful of artists. Producer Willie Mitchell used a lighter touch for his most famous artist, and it’s all but crafted into the Al Green sound. Despite his skills, Green never falls into mannerism here and gives heartfelt and cogent vocals rooted in intelligence and technique. “Sha-La-La (Make Me Happy),” although lyrically slight, has the artist’s charisma and Mitchell’s pop chops. “Take Me to the River,” with perfect backing from Hi Rhythm and a horn and string arrangement, finds Green at his most persuasive. The last track, “School Days,” has Green longing for a school girlfriend and despite the potentially sappy sentiment, it works like a charm. The greatness of Al Green Explores Your Mind comes from a collective effort, including James Mitchell’s dreamlike string arrangements and the always skilled backing vocals of Rhodes, Chalmers & Rhodes. But the biggest draw here is Green’s phrasing and intimate vocals, making the record an extremely strong effort.  -AllMusic

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required