Alejandro Escovedo – Echo Dancing (Gold Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 634457156210 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Yep Roc


Track List

Side A

  1. John Conquest
  2. Sacramento & Polk
  3. Bury Me
  4. Everybody Loves Me

Side B

  1. Too Many Tears
  2. Castañuelas
  3. Outside Your Door
  4. Sensitive Boys

Side C

  1. Thought I’d Let You Know
  2. Swallows of San Juan
  3. Last to Know

Side D

  1. MC Overload
  2. Inside This Dance
  3. Wave



Gold Vinyl Double LP Limited to 2,000 Copies

“This record breathes a second life into these songs,” says Alejandro Escovedo of Echo Dancing, the Americana pioneer’s 2024 album where he reconceptualizes the songs of his storied career. The variety of songs range from his short-lived rock quartet Buick MacKane, rarities from his ’80s alt-country outfit The True Believers, to the celebrated songs of his solo discography from his debut album all the way to his most recent sprawling masterpiece, The Crossing.

Highlights include a reimagined trip-hop-funk hybrid of Escovedo’s “Castanets” (retitled here as “Castañuelas”), a blistering version of “Bury Me” that finds that songwriter now older than the characters he was singing about, as well as songs co-written with trailblazers such as Chuck Prophet, Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey and J. Steven Soles.

At age 73, Escovedo continues to reshape his ever-changing sound and experiment with the boundaries of Americana music.

“I always feel that a well-written song can withstand a lot of abuse,” Escovedo says. It is an area of creativity that the man has always honored. “Turning a past song inside out leads to discovery of new ideas you might not have understood about the song,” he says. “Even lyrical refurbishing has proven helpful and effective. It’s like interpreting your own work anew. The songs never seem to be complete. They are always evolving.”

Everything on Echo Dancing has a feeling of absolute freshness about it, and at the same time, there is a strong link to the past. It’s almost like reincarnation in the recording studio, but everything seems brand new. All the musicians are dedicated to finding the new amongst the songs’ prior history. It is not something that happens often, and it surely has never occurred quite like it does on this fascinating new collection.

“Everyone involved has guided me to new approaches to my music, like other musicians have my whole life. I have always worked hard to discover new ways to tell the story. I’ve never hidden my love for Brian Eno, Roxy Music, Judy Nylon, Cluster, along with the Stooges, New York Dolls, MC5, Roky Erickson, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Joe Ely, Terry Allen; you get the picture. There is always more work to be done and joy to be made. I am nowhere near finished.”

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required