American Jazz Quintet – Gulf Coast Jazz Volume Two: Wade In The Water (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2016

Label: V.S.O.P. Records


Track List

  1. Wade In The Water
  2. Lil’ David
  3. I Got Shoes
  4. When The Saints
  5. Nigeria
  6. Reminiscence
  7. Sinner Don’t Let This Harvest Pass
  8. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
  9. Valse de Batiste
  10. Harold’s Church
  11. Selassie



  • Ellis Marsalis Jr. – piano
  • Harold Battiste – tenor
  • Alvin Batiste – clarinet
  • Ed Blackwell – drums
  • Richard Payne – bass
  • William Swanson – bass



The second release of music from the Gulf Coast Jazz sessions comes from the February 23, 1959 session at Cosimo’s studio in New Orleans. Recorded in stereo for release on Andex Records, some of the tracks on this album were released on Bumps Blackwell’s Famous Records label. Like the first session, Ellis Marsalis, Alvin Batiste, Harold Battiste, Ed Blackwell and Richard Payne or William Swanson provide a very interesting program of the unique jazz that these musicians were the primary proponents of. These treasures should not be ignored.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required