Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers – Roots & Herbs: Tone Poet Series (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 602508840524 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2020

Label:  Blue Note


Track List

Side A

  1. Ping Pong
  2. Roots and Herbs
  3. The Back Sliders


Side B

  1. United
  2. Look at the Birdie
  3. Master Mind



  • Art Blakey – drums
  • Lee Morgan – trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter – tenor sax
  • Bobby Timmons – piano
  • Walter Davis Jr – piano
  • Jymie Merritt – bass



How is it that one of Art Blakey’s greatest albums with the Jazz Messengers is so little known? The 1961 edition of the Messengers included Lee Morgan on trumpet, Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. In February and May of 1961, this group (with pianist Walter Davis Jr sitting in on two tracks) entered Rudy Van Gelder’s studio in New Jersey and proceeded to lay down Roots & Herbs, a brilliant set of six Shorter compositions including the driving hard bop of the title track, the playful “Ping Pong,” and the clever “United.” The album was eventually released in 1970 and deserves a place among Blakey’s finest recordings.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required