Ben Fox – Ben’s Bop (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2023

Label: Independent


Track List

  1. Ugetsu
  2. Tea For Two
  3. Stablemates
  4. Remember
  5. This Here
  6. Jubilation
  7. Taffy
  8. Afternoon In Paris



  • Ben Fox – bass
  • Tanner Guss – drums
  • Yoshitaka “Z2” Tsuji – piano
  • Marty Peters – tenor sax



I wanted to create an album rooted in the bebop tradition, made by young players thriving in the New Orleans present. I hope you hear in it a celebration of the enduring expressiveness of classic modern jazz.

As a kid, I grew up listening to classic 50s bop albums from Blue Note. In early 2022 I started a regular Saturday night engagement with Tanner and Z2 at Fritzel’s Jazz Pub in New Orleans. After about six months at Fritzel’s, we went into the studio with Marty Peters joining to front the rhythm section, and we knew we had something magical — a classic bop sound worth capturing for jazz fans far beyond Bourbon Street

After recording at Marigny Studios, Big Tone Records’ Jon Atkinson remastered all the microphone tones so they’d be like the Rudy Van Gelder sound so popular on all those classic Blue Note albums.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required