Billy Iuso – 52 Hz (Vinyl LP)


In stock



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Independent


Track List

Side A

  1. My Getaway
  2. Strongest Child
  3. More To The Island (Than Meets The Man)
  4. Shine On
  5. Arkansas Girl

Side B

  1. What’s Gonna Set You Free?
  2. Look Inside
  3. Rains Of Oaxaca
  4. It’s Time
  5. It’s Gonna Be OK




52 Hz hangs together as a loose concept album about staring down hard times and getting past them. The mood alternates between lowdown desperation and dogged optimism. The best tracks, like the slow burn opener “My Getaway” and the uplifting “Look Inside,” evince a bit of both. While many of the songs are recent, Iuso reaches back to his old band Brides of Jesus for “Who’s Gonna Set You Free”—which adds some punchy horns and lead guitar—and finds room for “Strongest Child,” an anthemic number by his late songwriting partner Jaik Miller. Closing out the disc is “It’s Gonna Be Ok,” a self-explanatory song that Anders Osborne wrote a couple decades ago for his then-partner Theresa Andersson to sing. It’s a fine song that was overdue for revival, and Iuso provides the soulful treatment it calls for.

As usual, Iuso puts his songwriting forward on disc and saves the funky and jammy material for concerts. But the disc does show off the chemistry of a band that’s been together for a while, with himself on guitar, Eddie Christmas on drums, Joe Ashlar on keys and Radiators’ bassist Reggie Scanlan (who gets more chances to step forward with melodic bass parts than he usually does in the Rads). They’ve also absorbed a lot of musical history: The instrumental “Rains of Oaxaca” sounds like something Ry Cooder might have done in his heyday, and that’s not a comparison I get to trot out often enough.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required