Blossom Dearie – The Hits (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 8436569195420 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  New Continent


Track List

Side A

  1. ‘Deed I Do
  2. Tout doucement (*)
  3. Rhode Island Is Famous for You
  4. Now at Last
  5. Boum! (*)
  6. Dance Only with Me
  7. Tea for Two
  8. Someone to Watch Over Me
  9. Plus je t’embrasse (*)

Side B

  1. Manhattan
  2. Try Your Wings
  3. Chez moi (*)
  4. Lover Man
  5. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  6. Once Upon a Summertime
  7. Let Me Love You
  8. Give Him the Ooh-la-la
  9. L’etang (*)

(*) Sung in French



Blossom Dearie created a jazz vocal style that was all her own and ended up as a fi xture on the New York Supper Club scene.

This release presents some of the best recordings by Blossom Dearie, whose wispy vocals, classic repertoire, and quick wit have combined to make her a distinct stylist for over 50 years. Never forgotten, her iconic voice can often be heard in a variety of settings and formats. Recently, her recordings were featured on several episodes of the TV series The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.

Dearie made the most of her delicate voice by incorporating elements of cabaret into her style. While the celebrated Diana Krall (who is also both a pianist and a singer) acknowledges that she listens to lyrics fi rst, judging new songs from a theatrical, narrative perspective, for Blossom Dearie the attraction began with the melody. ‘’Because I’m a musician primarily, I listen to the music fi rst,” she explained. ‘’If I don’t like the music, then I don’t do the song. Lyrics are the icing on the cake for me.”


  • BLOSSOM DEARIE (vocals & piano)
  • Accompanied by Small Groups, featuring:
  • Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell (guitar); Ray Brown (bass); Jo Jones, Ed Thigpen (drums); among others.

Recorded in New York & Los Angeles, 1956-1960.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required