Bobbie Gentry – Ode To Billie Joe (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 0600753959381 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Elemental Music


Track List

Side A

  1. Mississippi Delta
  2. I Saw An Angel Die
  3. Chickasaw County Child
  4. Sunday Best
  5. Niki Hoeky

Side B

  1. Papa, Woncha Let Me Go To Town With You
  2. Bugs
  3. Hurry, Tuesday Child
  4. Lazy Willie
  5. Ode To Billie Joe



180 gram pressing

The Southern Gothic masterpiece ODE TO BILLIE JOE, by American singersongwriter Bobbie Gentry, would top the Billboard album chart in 1967. Its first single, the album’s title track, also topped the US pop chart for 4 weeks and received 8 Grammy nominations in 1967, resulting in 3 awards for Gentry (Best New Artist, Best Female Vocal Performance, and Best Contemporary Female Solo Vocal Performance), and one for arranger Jimmie Haskell (Best Arrangement Accompanying a Vocalist or Instrumentalist).


  • BOBBIE GENTRY – (vocals & guitar)
  • George Fields – (harmonica & harp)
  • Harold Diner, Barrett O’Hara – (trombone)
  • Jack Sheldon – (trumpet)
  • James Burton, Mike Deasy – (guitar)
  • Norman Serkin, Joseph Saxon, Jesse Ehrlich – (cello & bass)
  • Carl Nashan, Ralph Schaeffer, William Kurasch – (violin)
  • Dale Anderson – (percussion)
  • Earl Palmer – (drums)

Original demo recorded by Bobby Gentry and Bobby Paris, early 1967.
Overdub sessions made at Capitol Studio C, Hollywood, California, between May & July 1967.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required