Carl Leblanc – New Orleans’ Seventh Ward Griot


In stock

SKU: 674511021122 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2008

Label:  Preservation Hall Recordings


Track List

1 Gift Of Love
2 Indian Love Song
3 Lonely Teardrops
4 You’re Number One
5 Ease Up
6 Stop The Violence
7 I Was Made To Love Her
8 Tomorrow
9 Roll Call
10 You Can Depend On Me
11 Madman Across The Water
12 On Super Sunday (Intro)
13 On Super Sunday
14 The Blues On West End



Carl LeBlanc is the banjo player for the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, but this unusual solo album is far from the Dixieland sound. While there are elements of classic New Orleans jazz here, SEVENTH WARD GRIOT (a griot is an African word for an oral keeper or teacher of tradition) draws on a wide range of Louisiana sounds. Playing virtually all instruments, LeBlanc presents a tangy sonic stew of funk, R&B, American Indian rhythms, an Elton John song (!), and poetry to convey a living oral history of New Orleans himself.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required