Champion Jack Dupree ‎– Blues From The Gutter (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8719262025998 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Music On Vinyl


Track List

Side A

  1. Strollin’
  2. T.B. Blues
  3. Can’t Kick The Habit
  4. Evil Woman
  5. Nasty Boogie

Side B

  1. Junker’s Blues
  2. Bad Blood
  3. Goin’ Down Slow
  4. Frankie & Johnny
  5. Stack-O-Lee



  • Piano, Vocals – Champion Jack Dupree
  • Saxophone – Pete Brown
  • Bass – Wendell Marshall
  • Guitar – Ennis Lowery
  • Drums – Willie Jones



180-gram vinyl

Debut album by blues pianist and singer Champion Jack Dupree

Features “Junker’s Blues,” “Evil Woman” and a cover version of James Burke Oden’s “Goin’ Down Slow”

Limited edition of 750 numbered copies on gold colored vinyl

Champion Jack Dupree got his name from his days as a boxer, but decided one day to transform many of his larger-than-life stories into songs. He connected with Atlantic Records to record his debut and best known album Blues From The Gutter, which was cut in New York in 1958 with a blasting band that included saxist Pete Brown and guitarist Larry Dale.

Overseen by producer Jerry Wexler, the album features Dupree’s playful Delta Blues on both self-penned tracks and cover versions of traditional tracks, such as “Goin’ Down Slow” by James Burke Oden. Blues From The Gutter became a big influence over the years on artists such as Jerry Lee Lewis and Brian Jones (Rolling Stones).

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required