Chris Kenner – Land Of 1000 Dances


Out of stock

SKU: 0081227946005 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date:  2016

Label:  Atlantic Records


Track List

1. Land of a 1,000 Dances
2. Come Back and See
3. How Far
4. Time
5. Come and See About Me
6. Packing Up
7. Something You Got
8. I Like It Like That (Part 1)
9. I Like It Like That (Part 2)
10. Go Thru Life
11. A Very True Story
12. That’s My Girl



“Land of a Thousand Dances” (or “Land of 1000 Dances”) is a song written and first recorded by Chris Kenner in 1963. The song is famous for it’s “na na na na na” hook, which Cannibal & the Headhunters added in their 1965 version, which reached number 30 on the Billboard chart. The song was covered by Danny & the Memories. Thee Midniters, an American group out of East Los Angeles, was one of the first Chicano rock bands to cover “Land of a Thousand Dances”, scoring a local hit in 1965. The song’s best-known version was Wilson Pickett’s 1966 recording on his album, which became an R&B #1 and his biggest ever pop hit. Some releases of the song credit Antoine “Fats” Domino as a co-author of the song with Kenner. Domino agreed to record the song in exchange for half of the song’s royalties. The “na na na na na” hook happened by accident when Frankie “Cannibal” Garcia, lead singer of Cannibal and the Headhunters, forgot the lyrics. The melody to this section was also created spontaneously, as it is not in Chris Kenner’s original track. Land of 1000 Dances, I Like It Like That parts 1 & 2

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required