Clarence Gatemouth Brown – Pressure Cooker


In stock

SKU: 01455147452 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date: 1991

Label: Alligator Records


Track List

  1. She Winked Her Eye
  2. Slow Down
  3. Just Lippin’
  4. My Time Is Expensive
  5. Ain’t Nobody Here But Us Chickens
  6. Pressure Cooker
  7. Ain’t That Just Like A Woman
  8. Deep, Deep Water
  9. Cold Strings



  • Clarence Gatemouth Brown – guitar, vocals
  • Jay McShann – piano
  • Milt Buckner – organ
  • Michael Silva – drums
  • Roland Lobligeois – bass
  • Paul Gunther – drums
  • Arnett Cobb – tenor sax
  • Xavier Chambon – trumpet
  • Michael Attenoux – alto sax
  • Hal Singer – tenor sax
  • Al Grey, Claude Gousset – trombones
  • Stan Hunter – organ
  • Chris Columbo – drums



Taken from several 1970s sessions in France, Pressure Cooker has a relaxed feel that belies its name, a loose vibe that’s never sloppy, combining the best of blues and swing. While not as tightly wound as some of Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown’s classic recordings–The Original Peacock Recordings and Texas Swing, for example–Pressure Cooker has its own strengths. “She Winked Her Eye” has some especially strong guitar work, and a hilarious monologue in the middle as a bonus, while the slow tempos of “My Time Is Expensive” and “Deep, Deep Water” allow Gate to stretch out (the latter also includes an excellent Jay McShann piano solo). Add to that the humorous touches on “Ain’t Nobody Here But Us Chickens” and the thoroughly un-politically correct “Ain’t That Just Like a Woman,” and what you have is a strong CD that makes up in entertainment what it lacks in intensity.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required