Clifton Chenier – Zodico Blues & Boogie


In stock

SKU: 02221170392 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 1993

Label: Specialty Records


Track List

  1. Boppin’ The Rock
  2. Ay – Te Te Fee
  3. The Cats Dreamin’
  4. Squeeze Box Boogie
  5. The Things I did For You
  6. Think It Over
  7. Zodico Stomp
  8. Yesterday  (I Lost My Best Friend)
  9. Chenier’s Boogie
  10. I’m On My Way  (back Home To You)
  11. All Night Long
  12. Opelousas Hop
  13. I’m On My Way  (Back Home To You)
  14. Wherever You Go I’ll Go
  15. Opelousas Hop
  16. Clifton’s Dreamin’
  17. Chenier’s Boogie
  18. Wherever You Go I’ll Go
  19. Ay – Te Te Fee
  20. All Night Long



  • Clifton Chenier – vocals, accordion
  • Lionel Prevo – tenor sax
  • James K. Jones – piano
  • Phillip Walker – guitars
  • Cornelius Green – guitars
  • Louis Candy – bass
  • Wilton Siemen – drums
  • Cleveland Chenier – scrub board



Clifton Chenier’s mid-’50s singles for Specialty were among his rawest and simplest; they were short ditties with rippling accordion and gritty vocals on top and driving rhythms and surging instrumental accompaniment underneath. That’s the formula displayed on this 20-cut presentation of Chenier’s early work, where he was often backed by guitarists Phillip Walker or Cornelius Green (Lonesome Sundown), with his brother Cleveland handling rubboard duties. This is Chenier in his stylistic infancy, building and nurturing what ultimately became a signature sound.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required